无论您采用什么自动化切割方法,让创意变为成品的步骤都是相同的。

第 1 步:

创建对象的计算机化三维模型或二维计算机辅助设计 (CAD) 图纸

通常使用三维 CAD 软件包 进行零件建模;模型可以是单个工件或整个组件的模型。您也可以利用二维 CAD 制图软件绘制同一零件;任一方案对自动化切割工艺流程均适用。此步骤的输出是进行了尺寸缩放的 3D 模型或 2D 零件文件。

第 2 步:

将 3D 模型或 2D CAD 图纸导入您的计算机辅助制造 (CAM) 软件

CAM 软件的 主要作用是将第 1 步中创建的 3D 模型或 CAD 图纸转换成机器能够识别的切割指令。它控制制造过程中使用的机床,并确定零件程序内要包含的运动要求和切割参数。

早期版本的 CAM 软件只是后置处理程序,用于生成根据 2D CAD 图纸切割零件的启动、停止和运动命令。如今的 CAM 软件将工作环境中的手动任务自动化,提高了软件的总体速度和效率,并采用了内置的质量控制措施。由于零件程序内直接嵌入了专家工艺,因此只需操作工少量干预,便可始终如一地获得高质量结果。其中包括零件在工件上的布局(称作“套料”),可令运动路径和切割技术得到优化。

第 3 步:

为您刚导入的模型或图纸生成切割程序。

对所需形状进行套料并转换为切割指令(即用于向设备下达指令的数字代码)后,即可输出并保存零件程序,以供切割时使用。

初级程序指示设备何时运动、向何处运动以及以多快的速度运动。更高级的程序包含嵌入式信息,这些信息可像有经验的操作工那样对每项作业进行优化。嵌入的知识有助于 CNC 控制器自动控制流量、压力设定、引入线和引出线的长度和时序、切割方向、零件切割顺序、调高控制命令、切割速度以及其他工艺参数。

第 4 步:

将程序加载到您的 CNC 控制器上并启动切割

A 计算机数控系统(CNC 控制器) 与切割机相连,通常由人机接口 (HMI) 和内部处理功能组成。尽管各 CNC 控制器在尺寸和复杂性上有所差异,但一般都能向切割床驱动电机/放大器、切割工具以及关联设备发出运动指令和其他相关指令。

CNC 控制器软件从操作工控制台获得输入,识别零件程序发来的指令,然后通过发送用于控制整个切割操作的信号将这些指令全部执行。CAM 软件的作用是将所有可提前规划的内容进行编程,而 CNC 控制器软件的作用则是实际执行零件程序,并通过精确的时序控制协调运动和切割系统,以及对切割环境的反馈作出响应。

CNC 控制器的关键输入是零件程序、切割系统的反馈信号、切割床和升降体以及操作工控制台开关。

不确定该使用哪一种工艺或方法?

您可以在此处找到有用信息:

No matter which automated cutting method you’re using, the steps for turning an idea into a finished object are the same.

Step 1:

Create a computerized three-dimensional model or two-dimensional Computer Aided Design (CAD) drawing of the object

Three-dimensional CAD software packages are typically used for parts modeling; the model may be of a single piece, or an entire assembly. You can also draw the same part using two-dimensional CAD drawing software; either option works for the automated cutting process flow. The output of this step is a dimensionally scaled 3D model or a 2D part file.

Step 2:

Import the 3D model or 2D CAD drawing into your Computer Aided Manufacturing (CAM) software

The CAM software’s main job is to convert the 3D model or CAD drawing created in Step 1 into cutting instructions the machine can read. It controls the machine tools used in the manufacturing process and establishes the motion requirements and cutting parameters to be included in the part program.

Early versions of CAM software were simply post processors that generated start, stop, and motion commands to cut out the part based on a 2D CAD drawing. Today’s CAM software automates manual tasks in the work environment, increases the overall speed and efficiency of the software, and uses built-in quality control measures. Process expertise is embedded directly into the part program, creating consistently high quality results with minimal operator intervention. This includes the layout of parts on the workpiece, called a “nest,” so that the motion path and cutting techniques are optimized.

Step 3:

Generate a cutting program from the model or drawing you just imported.

Once the desired shape(s) have been nested and converted into cutting instructions (i.e. numeric code to instruct a machine), a part program may be output and saved for cutting.

Basic programs tell the machine when to move, where to move, and how fast to move. More advanced programs contain embedded information that optimizes each job, in much the same way an experienced operator would. Embedded knowledge helps the CNC automatically control flow rate, pressure settings, the length and timing of lead-ins and lead-outs, the direction of the cut, the order in which parts are cut, height control commands, cut speed, and other process parameters.

Step 4:

Load the program onto your CNC and initiate cut

A Computer Numerical Control (CNC) is connected to the cutting machine and usually consists of a Human Machine Interface (HMI) and internal processing capability. While CNCs vary in size and complexity, the unit typically provides motion and other related instructions to the table drive motors/amplifiers, cutting tool, and associated equipment.

The CNC software takes inputs from the operator console, reads instructions from the part program, and executes it all by sending signals to control the entire cutting operation. While CAM software programs everything that can be planned ahead of time, the CNC software executes the actual part program, coordinates the motion and cutting system with precise timing, and reacts to feedback from the cutting environment.

The key inputs to the CNC are the part program, feedback signals from cutting system, table and lifter, and operator console switches.

Not sure which process or method to use?

You’ll find helpful information here:

Want to learn more about automated cutting?

Take our free "Automated Cutting Process" eLearning course on the Hypertherm Cutting Institute

Read more

Want to learn more about CAD/CAM

Take our free "Introduction to CAD/CAM" eLearning course on the Hypertherm Cutting Institute

Read more