有许多因素会影响切割系统的总体运行成本:易损件、电源、气体、维护等。

人工成本 在全球的大多数地区,它同样是运行成本的一个促成要素;人工费用的上涨和熟练工人的缺乏依然是自动化切割解决方案需求的推动因素。要想进一步降低运营成本,可以考虑采用全自动化解决方案,以减少或消除:

  • 对 CNC 控制器编程和设置的需求
  • 二次加工(如焊接预处理所需的研磨)
  • 对利用多台机器执行多项加工作业(如切割、打标和坡口切割)的需求

材料利用率 是运行成本的另一个促成要素。尽管在许多情况下,可以通过出售未用材料或报废材料收回部分成本,但一开始就通过提高这部分材料的利用率来减少浪费则要有益得多。材料利用率有各种促成因素,其中最值得注意的是 CAD/CAM 软件,它决定零件套料并引导切割运动。

计算运行成本时,必须避免单纯计算每小时成本,而要侧重于计算单位零件成本或单位英尺成本。为何?一个系统每小时运行成本约为 17.96 欧元(20 美元),但每小时只能生产两个零件;另一系统每小时运行成本同样约为 17.96 欧元(20 美元),但每小时能生产 100 个零件。前者的效率远不如后者。 

单位零件成本 = 每小时运行成本/生产的零件数量

单位英尺成本 = 每小时运行成本/切割的英尺数

 

更深入的运行成本评估需要了解生产成品零件的总成本,包括用于为零件做焊接或喷漆准备或只是出于美观目的对零件进行抛光的下游工艺。如果可以通过改良切割工艺来减少下游工艺及其需要的机器时间和人工成本,则可降低单位成品零件总成本。

切割系统中一个常常被忽视的方面是 割炬调高控制器 (THC) 性能。 高性能的调高控制器可以通过 CNC 控制器或零件程序进行自动化工艺设置,从而实现以下目的:

  • 减少或消除常见设置错误
  • 对电极磨损进行补偿,以最大限度延长易损件寿命
  • 保持适当高度以实现最佳切割角度
  • 检测割炬碰撞,从而防止割炬损坏

 

接下来,了解一下设备投资成本

Many factors can impact the overall cost of operating a cutting system: consumables, power, gas, maintenance, etc.

Labor cost is also an important contributor to operating cost in most parts of the world; rising labor rates and the lack of skilled labor continues to drive demand for automated cutting solutions. To further improve operational costs, consider a fully automated solution that can reduce or eliminate:

  • the need for programming and setup at the CNC
  • secondary operations such as grinding for weld preparation
  • the need for more than one machine to perform multiple process operations such as cutting, marking and beveling

Material utilization is another important contributor to operating cost. While in many cases it is possible to recoup some cost by selling unused or scrap material, it is far more beneficial to increase the utilization of that material so that there is less waste in the first place. A variety of factors contribute to material utilization; most notably, the CAD/CAM software that determines the part nest and directs the cutting motion.

When calculating operating cost, it is important to steer away from calculating just the cost per hour and instead focus on the cost per part or the cost per foot. Why? A system that costs ~$17.96 EUR ($20) per hour to operate but only produces two parts per hour is not nearly as efficient as one that costs ~$17.96 EUR ($20) per hour but produces 100 parts.

Cost per part = Operating cost per hour / number of parts produced

Cost per foot = Operating cost per hour / number of feet cut

 

An even deeper assessment of operating cost requires understanding the total cost to produce a completed part, including downstream processes to prepare the part for welding or painting, or simply finishing the part for aesthetic purposes. When downstream processes – and the machine time and labor costs they require – can be reduced via improvements to the cutting process, total cost per completed part may be reduced.

One area often overlooked in a cutting system is Torch Height Control (THC) performance.  A high-performance height control has the ability for automated process setup through the CNC or the Part Program to:

  • reduce or elimate common setup errors
  • compensate for electrode wear to maximize consumable life
  • maintain proper height for optimal cut angularity
  • detect torch collisions protecting the torch from damage

 

Next, capital equipment cost