在大型工业机器上,CNC 控制器本质上是一种高级工业计算机,通过内部运动和机器控制软件以及各种输入和输出来控制驱动电机、切割系统、调高控制以及切割机上可能安装的其他工具。它从切割机操作工和 CAM(计算机辅助制造)软件接收指令,然后将这些指令转换成完美时控的电信号,对所有功能进行控制。工业 CNC 控制器极其坚固耐用,能够耐受在脏污、恶劣并且电信号嘈杂的环境中的长期使用;不过,这种坚固性会增加成本和复杂性。

成本更低的轻型工业切割床通常使用普通 PC 或笔记本电脑作为 CNC 控制器。尽管这些计算机的设计用途是在清洁的温控环境中进行相对轻负荷的使用,并可能因此被认为在恶劣的生产环境中会出现可靠性问题,但实际上它们完全有能力应对许多小型机器上的运动要求以及有限的输入和输出要求。如果需要使用普通 PC,则必须为系统配备使用回吹式割炬起弧技术的现代化空气等离子切割系统,这项技术产生的电气噪声干扰水平较低。相比之下,较旧的空气等离子切割系统和工业等离子切割系统使用的高频、高压或电容起弧可能对精密电子元件造成严重干扰。

选择 CNC 控制器时,您需要关注其界面是否易用。许多技术水平较低的切割机使用标准办公室键盘和鼠标来控制功能,更高端的切割机则会集成简单的触摸屏控制。

CNC 控制器软件应尽可能直观。如果 CNC 控制器软件是从用于布线和铣削等加工工艺这一原用途改造而成,则往往达不到此要求。如果选择专为切割而设计的用户界面(CNC 控制器软件),往往能够大大简化日常的学习和使用。

CNC 控制器对切割机作业的总体成功具有关键作用。一款理想的 CNC 控制器应当为用户带来如下优势:

  • 操作简便
  • 始终如一的可靠性能
  • 更高的生产效率
  • 灵活的系统配置
  • 准确的运动和工艺时序控制
  • 简化的系统诊断
  • 高级切割工艺控制
  • 集成与系统及工具的通信
  • 制造商定期发布软件更新,以跟上切割行业日益增长的需求

接下来,了解有关 THC 的信息

On large industrial machines, the CNC is basically an advanced industrial computer with internal motion and machine control software and a variety of inputs and outputs to control the drive motors, cutting systems, height controls, and other tools that might be mounted on the cutting machine. It takes its orders from the machine operator and CAM (computer assisted manufacturing) software, converting the orders into perfectly timed electrical signals that control all functionality. Industrial CNCs are designed to be extremely robust, to withstand long term use in dirty, rough, and electrically noisy environments; however, this robustness adds cost and complexity.

Lower cost light industrial tables often use a consumer PC or laptop as the CNC. While these computers, designed for a relatively easy life in clean, temperature-controlled environments, might be expected to have reliability issues in a harsh production environment, they are completely capable of handling the motion and limited input and output requirements on many small machines. If a consumer PC is to be used, the system must be equipped with a modern air plasma cutting system that uses a blowback torch starting technology, which produces a lower level of electrical noise interference. In contrast, older air plasma systems and industrial plasma systems use high frequency, high voltage or capacitive starting that can play havoc with delicate electronics.

When selecting a CNC, you’ll want to look for an easy-to-use interface. While many lower technology machines use a standard office keyboard and mouse to control functionality, the higher-end machines incorporate simple touchscreen controls.

CNC software should be as intuitive as possible. This is often not the case if the CNC software has been repurposed from machining processes such as routing and milling. Select a user interface (CNC software) that’s been designed specifically for cutting tends to be much easier to learn and use on a daily basis.

CNCs play a critical role in the overall success of a cutting machine operation. Ideally, a CNC should provide the user with:

  • Easy operation
  • Consistent, reliable performance
  • Increased productivity
  • Flexible system configurability
  • Accurate motion and process timing
  • Simplified system diagnostics
  • Advanced cut process control
  • Integrated communications to system and tools
  • Regular manufacture software updates to keep pace with the growing needs of the cutting industry

Next learn about THCs