许多加工车间花大量时间和资金对等离子切割机切割的零件进行打磨、刨削和砂光以除去熔渣。切割质量等式中有如此多的变量,等离子割炬操作工应如何开始排除熔渣问题?通过控制关键的切割工艺变量,操作工可以尽量减少甚至完全消除熔渣及二次加工的相关成本。

切割期间未从割缝完全喷出的已熔化金属经氧化后再次固化,从而形成了熔渣。熔渣是最常见的等离子切割质量问题。熔渣可能沿着板材底部边缘形成厚厚的泡状堆积物(低速熔渣)、在未切割材料上形成细小、坚硬的焊珠(高速熔渣)或沿着板材顶部表面形成薄薄的涂层(顶部熔渣)。

熔 渣的形成取决于许多切割工艺变量,包括割炬行进速度、间隙距离、安培数、电压和易损件状况。它还受材料变量的影响,如材料的厚度和类型、等级、化学成分、 表面条件、平滑度,甚至切割时材料的温度变化。然而,熔渣的形成需要考虑的三个最重要的变量则是切割速度、安培数和间隙距离。

低速熔渣

如 果切割速度太慢,等离子射流会开始寻找更多要切割的材料。此时弧柱直径增加,从而使割缝加宽,一直会加宽到等离子射流的高速部分不再从切割面喷出熔化的材 料。因此,熔化的材料开始沿着板材底部边缘累积,形成厚厚的球粒。这就是低速熔渣。在速度极低时,电弧将消失,因为没有足够的金属来维持转移的电弧。增加 安培数或减小间隙(同时保持恒定的材料厚度和切割速度)对切割面的作用与降低切割速度所产生的作用类似。上述两个变化都会导致等离子射流在既定时间内接触 材料既定区域的能量增多。电流过大或间隙过小也会造成低速熔渣。(等离子切割的转角存在一些低速熔渣属于正常现象,因为在通过急转弯时速度无法保持恒 定)。

消除低速熔渣:

  • 以 12.7 厘米/分钟的增量提高切割速度
  • 以 1/16 的增量增加间隙或以 5 伏的增量增大弧压
  • 以 10 A 的增量减小安培数
  • 如果上述措施都不能改进切割,则考虑使用较小尺寸的喷嘴

高速熔渣

如 果切割速度太快,电弧将开始滞后进入到割缝中,使未切割的材料出现细小、坚硬的焊珠,或沿着板材底部形成翻转熔渣。这种高速熔渣更加坚固,往往需要大量加 工才能消除。在极高的速度下,电弧将变得不稳定,并开始在割缝中上下振动,导致产生鸡尾状的弧光和熔化材料。在上述速度下,电弧可能无法穿透金属,或者可 能会熄灭。

高间隙或低安培数(对于既定材料厚度和切割速度)也会导致高速熔渣,因为这两种变化会导致等离子射流的能量减少。

消除高速熔渣:

  • 首先检查喷嘴有无磨损迹象(气刨、尺寸过大或椭圆孔口)
  • 以 12.7 厘米/分钟的增量降低切割速度
  • 以 1/16 的增量减小间隙或以 5 伏的增量减小弧压
  • 增加安培数(但不得超过喷嘴孔口额定值的 95%)

顶部飞渣

顶部飞渣是沿着切割件顶部飞溅的金属再次固化后的堆积物。顶部飞渣通常很容易清除。其形成的原因通常包括喷嘴磨损、切割速度过快或间隙过大。等离子射流的旋流也会引起顶部飞渣,旋流以特定角度将熔化的材料猛力抛出到割缝前面而非向下穿过割缝。

消除顶端飞渣:

  • 检查喷嘴有无磨损迹象
  • 以 12.7 厘米/分钟的增量降低切割速度
  • 以 1/16 的增量减小间隙或以 5 伏的增量减小弧压

切割速度对切割质量的影响

熔渣

切割速度刚刚好

 

切割速度太快

 

切割速度太慢

无熔渣窗口

介于高速和低速熔渣这两个极端之间的是无熔渣或极少熔渣切割的窗口。找到此窗口是尽量避免等离子切割件二次加工要求的关键。

此窗口因所用等离子气体的不同而异:例如,氮气和空气等离子气体处理碳钢时具有相对狭窄的无熔渣窗口,而氧气等离子气体则具有较宽的无熔渣窗口。(氧气等离子气体与碳钢发生反应,产生更细的熔化金属喷雾,每个液滴都具有更低的表面张力。这种熔化的喷雾更容易从割缝喷出)。

无熔渣窗口还受材料类型的影响。例如,冷轧钢切割面比热轧钢更整洁,酸洗钢切割面比非酸洗钢更整洁。

判断最佳切割速度:

  • 方法 1: 以各种切割速度进行一系列的切割测试,并选择可产生最整洁的切割面的速度。滞后线(切割表面的小隆起)可以很好的指示切割速度。缓慢的切割速度会产生垂直 的滞后线,该线与板材平面垂直。切割速度快会形成倾斜的 s 形滞后线,该线沿着底部边缘与板材平行。通过检查滞后线,操作工可以确定是否需要提高或降低速度,以找到无熔渣窗口。许多操作工在第一次看到熔渣时倾向于 减慢机器速度,但此时往往需要提高速度。

  • 方法 2: 在切割期间观察电弧(通过合适的焊接防护镜),并动态地更改速度以产生最佳电弧特性。为此,须观察电弧从工件底部退出时的角度。如果您使用空气等离子气体 进行切割,则电弧从切割面底部退出时应保持垂直状态。使用氮气或氩气/氢气时,电弧稍微拖尾最好,使用氧气等离子气体时,可以使电弧稍微超前的速度为最佳 切割速度。

Many fabrication shops spend a lot of time and money grinding, chipping, and sanding parts that were cut on the plasma machine to remove dross. With so many variables in the cut quality equation, how does a plasma torch operator begin to troubleshoot a dross problem? By controlling the critical process variables, the operator can minimize or eliminate dross and the associated costs of secondary operations.

Dross is re-solidified oxidized molten metal that is not fully ejected from the kerf during cutting. It is the most common cut quality problem of plasma cutting. Dross may form as a thick bubbly accumulation along the bottom edge of the plate (low speed dross), a small hard bead of uncut material (high speed dross) or a light coating along the top surface of the plate (top spatter).

Dross formation is dependent on many process variables including torch travel speed, standoff distance, amperage, voltage and consumable condition. It is also affected by material variables such as thickness and type of material, grade, chemical composition, surface condition, flatness, and even temperature changes in the material as it is cut. However, the three most critical variables to consider in dross formation are cutting speed, amperage, and standoff distance.

Low speed dross

If the cutting speed is too slow, the plasma jet begins to look for more material to cut. The arc column grows in diameter, widening the kerf to a point where the high velocity portion of the plasma jet no longer ejects the molten material from the cut. As a result, this molten material begins to accumulate along the bottom edge of the plate in a thick globular form. This is called low-speed dross. At extremely low speeds the arc extinguishes because there is not enough metal to sustain a transferred arc. Increasing the amperage or decreasing the standoff (while keeping material thickness and speed constant) have a similar effect on the cut as slowing down the cut speed. Both of these changes cause more energy from the plasma jet to contact a given area of the material in a given period of time. Excessive amperage or low standoff can also cause low-speed dross. (Some low speed dross in the corners of a plasma cut is normal since velocity does not remain constant through a sharp turn).

To eliminate low speed dross:

  • Increase the cut speed in 5 ipm increments
  • Increase the standoff in 1/16 increments or 5 volt increments
  • Decrease the amperage in 10 amp increments
  • If none of these measures improve the cut, consider a smaller nozzle size

High speed dross

If the cutting speed is too fast, the arc begins to lag back in the kerf leaving a small hard bead of uncut material or rollover dross along the bottom of the plate. This high-speed dross is more tenacious and usually requires extensive machining to remove. At extremely high speeds the arc becomes unstable and begins oscillating up and down in the kerf causing a rooster tail of sparks and molten material. At these speeds the arc may fail to penetrate the metal or extinguish.

High standoff or low amperage (for a given material thickness and cutting speed) can also cause high speed dross since both of these changes cause a reduction in the energy of the plasma jet.

To eliminate high speed dross:

  • Check the nozzle first for signs of wear (gouging, oversize or elliptical orifice)
  • Decrease the cutting speed in 5 ipm increments
  • Decrease the standoff in 1/16 increments or 5 volts increments
  • Increase the amperage (but do not exceed 95% of the nozzle orifice rating)

Top spatter dross

Top spatter is an accumulation of re-solidified metal that sprays along the top of the cut piece. It is usually very easy to remove. A worn nozzle, excessive cutting speed, or a high standoff is usually the cause. It is caused by the swirling flow of the plasma jet, which at a certain angle of attack flings molten material out in front of the kerf rather than down through it.

To eliminate top spatter dross:

  • Check the nozzle for signs of wear
  • Decrease the cutting speed in 5 ipm increments
  • Decrease the standoff in 1/16 increments or 5 volt increments

How cutting speed affects cut quality

Dross examples

Cutting speed is just right

 

Cutting speed is too fast

 

Cutting speed is too slow

Dross free window

Between the extremes of high and low speed dross is a window of dross free or minimum dross cutting. Finding this window is the key to minimizing secondary operation requirements on plasma cut pieces.

The window varies with plasma gas used: For example, nitrogen and air plasma gasses have a relatively narrow dross free window on carbon steels while oxygen plasma has a wider dross free window. (Oxygen plasma gas reacts with carbon steel to produce a finer spray of molten metal, each droplet having a lower surface tension. This molten spray is more easily ejected from the kerf).

The dross free window is also affected by material type. For instance cold rolled steels cut cleaner than hot rolled and pickled steels cut cleaner than non-pickled.

To judge the optimum cutting speed:

  • Method 1: make a series of test cuts at various cutting speeds and choose the speed that produces the cleanest cut. Lag lines (small ridges in the surface of the cut) are a good indication of cutting speed. Slow cutting speeds produce vertical lag lines that are perpendicular to the plane of the plate. Fast cutting speeds make slanted s-shaped lag lines that run parallel to the plate along the bottom edge. By examining the lag lines the operator can determine whether an increase or decrease in speed is needed to find the dross free window. Many operators have the tendency to slow the machine down at the first appearance of dross, but often an increase in speed is necessary.

  • Method 2: watch the arc (through the appropriate welding lens) during the cut and dynamically change the speed to produce the optimum arc characteristics. To do this, observe the angle of the arc as it exits the bottom of the work-piece. If you're cutting with air plasma gas, the arc should be vertical as it exits the bottom side of the cut. With nitrogen or argon/hydrogen, a slight trailing arc is best, and with oxygen plasma gas, the best cut speed is one that gives you a slight leading arc.