很多制造车间花费大量时间和资金对使用等离子切割机切割的零件进行二次加工,以清除熔渣或修正不准确的尺寸。在本文中,我们将讨论一些影响等离子切割件尺寸准确性的关键工艺变量。通过严格控制少数变量,操作工可以最大程度地减少或消除尺寸问题及二次加工和废料的相关成本。

对等离子切割机操作工而言,切割小孔以及凹槽、尖角和小半径等复杂的形状存在特殊的困难。为了方便说明,我们将小孔定义为直径小于 1.5 倍材料厚度的孔。使用传统系统不仅难以干净利落地切割这些形状,返工超差零件也更为困难,对尺寸较小或非圆柱孔进行扩孔以及研磨小半径转角以清除熔渣并不轻松,且不具成本效益。

很多加工车间通过购买昂贵的高精度切割机器或更昂贵的激光系统来解决这些问题。但是,通过谨慎地编程并充分了解影响切割质量的变量,可以结合使用保养良好的等离子切割机器和传统割炬实现接近高精度切割的质量。

螺栓孔应为圆柱形

顶部和底部的孔直径应基本相同,以确保与螺栓正好贴合。影响孔圆柱度的一个关键参数是切割速度。程序员按线性速度 (mm/min) 输入切割速度,但在切割圆形时,割炬必须降速,以补偿等离子弧在切割时的自然滞后。绝大多数 CNC 控制器都可以自动补偿该现象,其所用的算法会将切割孔时速度的下降考虑在内。这种计算叫做向心限制,会将半径长度、割炬加速度和最小转角速度考虑在内,从而调整切割圆形时的实际速度。程序员或操作工可以通过提升或降低线性速度优化实际的圆切割速度,从而提高圆柱度。这意味着在编程时,对于同一零件,切割螺栓孔的速度低于直线切割的速度。

切割高度或电压设定

切割高度(或电压设定)是影响螺栓孔切割质量的另一个参数。切割小孔时,切割高度在整个切割过程中都应保持不变。使用调压式割炬调高控制器 (THC) 时,切割高度取决于弧压设定(通常为 100 ~ 180 V)。根据系统的响应能力,使用 THC 切割小孔可能不仅无法提高切割质量,反而会降低质量。在切割较小的零件时必须锁定 THC,以防止割炬切割高度过高或过低,同时避免割炬在切割结束时突然插入板材。在穿孔结束后,可通过切换到手动模式锁定 THC,也可以在切割孔时重编零件切割程序,指定转角降速(禁用 THC)。更为灵敏的新型割炬调高控制系统可用于处理切割高度不当造成的缺陷。

引入线和引出线编程

引入线与引出线的类型和尺寸可以对切割质量造成显著影响,尤其是切割螺栓孔和凹槽时。砂眼和隆起是两种常见的缺陷。在切割结束时电弧切削掉过多材料会发生砂眼。在等离子弧跨过引入线的割缝(即切割开始时切削掉的材料)时,其转移到保留的零件部分,因此产生小压痕,有时会产生较大的凹陷区。这样会导致孔不圆。

如果引入线和引出线没有恰当地重叠,则会造成隆起。孔中的部分材料没有完全切除,留下一块凸起的金属,导致螺栓无法进入。

在起点和终点使用合适的引入线和引出线可最大程度减少砂眼和隆起,但难点在于如何选择合适的引入线和引出线。操作工可通过试错法选择合适的组合。通常,对保留的零件使用弧形引入线和很小的或负极引出线(负极过烧),可以达到最好的圆孔质量。有时,短直引入线搭配小引出线(正极过烧)的效果更好。

外旋引入线是一种特殊设计,尤其适合孔切割。(注:它与火焰切割中使用的传统锁定引入线不同,通常不用于等离子切割。)使用外旋引入线时,机器可以最高速度运行,并且电弧在切割孔圆周时可达到稳定,在整个切割过程中机器运动可保持最平稳的状态。

喷嘴尺寸和安培数

一般而言,小喷嘴搭配较低的安培数和速度可以产生较小的割缝,切割质量也更高。

例如,使用 200 A 等离子切割系统时,最高电源电流为 200 A、孔口为 2 mm 和割缝为 3 mm 的配置可能不适合切割小螺栓孔和复杂的零件。

假设您需要在 12 mm 的低碳钢中精确地切割出 12 mm 的孔。使用 100 A 喷嘴和较小的 1-1/2 mm 孔口以及 2 mm 宽的割缝,并以低速切割,可以达到更高的切割质量。

若想使用既定喷嘴达到最佳的切割质量,请务必将安培数设为喷嘴额定电流的 95% 至 100%。缺点:易损件寿命缩短,切割速度降低。优点:零件接近成品,最大程度减少二次加工。

高精度等离子切割系统的适用领域

高精度等离子切割系统使用小喷嘴孔口和强气体涡流压缩电弧。因此可以产生高能量电弧和非常窄的割缝,可用于切割复杂的零件和非常小的孔。传统等离子切割系统的精度为 0.76 mm,切割面产生 3-5° 的坡口,有时可达到 1°。高精度系统的精度为 0.25 mm,产生的坡口角度为 0-3°。该系统可精确切割最小 4.76 mm 的孔。

切割螺栓孔的六个原则

  • 使用额定的最小喷嘴尺寸进行材料穿孔和切割
  • 确保穿孔延迟允许电弧在机器开始运动前完全穿透
  • 锁定调压式 THC
  • 使用弧形或螺旋引入线
  • 编程时输入较低的切割速度
  • 对保留的零件使用较短或负极引出线

相关内容

Too many fabrication shops spend time and money reworking parts cut on their plasma machine removing dross or correcting dimensional inaccuracies. Here we discuss the critical process variables that affect dimensional accuracy of plasma-cut pieces. By carefully controlling a few variables, the operator can minimize or eliminate dimensional problems and the associated costs of secondary operations and scrap parts.

Small holes and intricate shapes such as slots, sharp corners, and tight radii present special problems for the plasma cutting machine operator. For our purposes, we will define a small hole as any hole whose diameter is less than 1.5 times the material thickness. Not only is it more difficult to cut these shapes cleanly with conventional systems, but reworking out-of-tolerance parts is more difficult as well – reaming out undersized or non-cylindrical holes and grinding into tight corners to remove dross isn't fun or cost effective.

Many shops solve these problems by buying expensive high-tolerance cutting machines or even more expensive laser systems. But it is possible, with a well-maintained plasma-cutting machine and conventional torch, to achieve near-high-tolerance cuts with careful programming and a good understanding of cut-quality variables.

Bolt-holes should be cylindrical

Hole diameter at the top and bottom should be nearly equal – in order to ensure a good fit with the bolt. One critical parameter that affects cylindricity of the hole is cutting speed. Programmers enter cutting speed as a lineal rate in inches per minute (in/min) or millimeters per minute (mm/min), but when cutting a circle the torch must slow down to compensate for the natural lag of the plasma arc as it cuts. Most CNC controls automatically compensate for this phenomenon with an algorithm that factors down the velocity for hole cutting. Called centripetal limiting, this calculation accounts for the length of the radius, torch acceleration, and minimum corner speed to adjust the actual cutting speed around a circle. The programmer or operator may be able to adjust the lineal speed up or down to optimize actual circular-cutting speed for improved cylindricity. This would mean programming different, lower speeds for bolt-holes than for straight cuts on the same part.

Cut height, or voltage setting

Cut height, or voltage setting, is another parameter that affects cut quality on bolt holes. For small holes, cut height should remain constant throughout the cut. With voltage regulated torch height control (THC), cut height is determined by an arc voltage setting of typically 100–180 V. Depending on the responsiveness of the system, using THC for small holes may worsen rather than improve cut quality. It may be necessary to lockout the THC during cutting of small parts to prevent the torch from cutting too high or low and to prevent the torch from diving at the end of the cut. The THC can be locked out by switching into manual mode after the pierce is complete, or reprogramming the part to specify corner-slow-down – no THC – during hole cuts. Newer more responsive torch-height controls may help with defects caused by improper cut height.

Programming lead-ins and lead-outs

The type and size of lead-in and lead-out can significantly affect cut quality, particularly with bolt-holes and slots. Two common defects are divots and bumps. A divot occurs when the arc removes too much material at the end of the cut. As the plasma arc crosses the lead-in kerf – the removed material from the beginning of the cut – it transfers to the saved part, causing a small indentation or, sometimes, a larger scooped-out region. This makes the hole out-of-round.

A bump occurs if the lead-in and lead-out do not adequately overlap. Some of the material in the hole is not completely removed, leaving a bump of uncut metal that prevents the hole from accepting a bolt.

Finding the appropriate lead-in and lead-out to minimize divots and bumps at start and end points can be challenging. Operators can use a trial-and-error process to find the appropriate combination. Generally, a radiused lead-in with a very small or negative lead-out (negative overburn) to the saved part will produce the best hole. Sometimes a short, straight lead-in works better with a small leadout (positive overburn).

The outward-spiral lead-in is a special design that can be very effective for hole cutting. (Note: This differs from the traditional locking lead-in used in oxyfuel cutting, typically not used for plasma cutting.) The outward-spiral lead-in allows the machine to reach full speed and the arc to stabilize before cutting the hole perimeter, providing the smoothest machine motion throughout the cut.

Nozzle size and amperage

In general, a small nozzle with lower amperage and slower speed will produce a smaller kerf and a finer cut.

For example, with a 200-A plasma system, the highest power – 200 A, 2 mm (0.086") orifice, 3 mm (0.130") kerf) may not be suitable for cutting small bolt holes and intricate details.

Let’s say you want to cut a precise 12 mm (1/2") hole in 12 mm (1/2") mild steel. A 100-A nozzle with a smaller orifice, 1-1/2 mm (0.059"), and kerf width, 2 mm (0.089"), cutting at a slower speed will produce a much finer cut.

To get the best cut from a given nozzle, always set amperage at 95 to 100% of the nozzle’s rating. The downside: reduced consumable life and slower cutting speeds. The upside: a nearly finished part with minimal rework.

When to use high-tolerance plasma

High-tolerance plasma uses a small nozzle orifice and intense gas swirl to constrict the arc. The result is an energy-dense arc with a very narrow kerf that can cut intricate details and very small holes. Conventional plasma systems can cut within 0.76 mm (.030") accuracy and produce cuts with 3–5° of bevel, sometimes as little as 1°. High tolerance systems can cut with 0.25 mm (0.010") accuracy and 0–3° of bevel. They can accurately cut holes as small as 4.76 mm (3/16").

Six rules for cutting bolt holes

  • Use the smallest nozzle size rated to pierce and cut the material
  • Make sure the pierce-delay allows full arc penetration before machine motion starts
  • Lock out voltage-regulated THC
  • Use a radiused or spiraled lead-in
  • Program a slower cutting speed
  • Use a short or negative leadout to the saved part

 

Related content