很多制造车间花费大量时间和金钱对使用等离子切割机切割的零件进行二次加工,以清除熔渣或修正尺寸偏差。这些切割质量问题部分是因较旧或缺乏保养的 切割机的机械和电气问题所致;部分与等离子工艺本身相关。切割质量等式中有如此多的变量,等离子割炬操作工应如何开始排除切割质量问题?在本文中,我们将 讨论一些影响等离子切割件尺寸准确性的关键工艺变量。通过仔细控制这些变量,操作工可以最大程度地减少或消除尺寸问题及二次加工或废料的相关成本。

割缝 是指等离子切割工艺产生的空隙,或指等离子弧切除的金属量。等离子弧是动态的(其尺寸和形状因电流、电压、气流和割炬的移动速率而异),因此,割缝会随着 等离子弧柱的变化而变化。此外,喷嘴尺寸也会直接影响割缝宽度,这是因为喷嘴孔会将等离子气体射流限制为一个特定直径。(喷嘴尺寸根据电流额定值确定:喷 嘴功率越大,开孔越大。)预估割缝宽度的一个好方法是将喷嘴孔尺寸乘以系数1.5。例如,一个孔口为0.086"、电流为200 A的空气喷嘴产生的割缝宽度约为0.129"。

用于等离子弧切割的CNC控制器具有一个可调节参数,称为割缝补偿。操 作工或程序员为割缝补偿输入一个值,该值通常等于割缝宽度(有些控制器使用 _ 割缝宽度)。然后,CNC控制器自动计算对切割宽度的补偿值,使割缝始终保持位于零件的废料侧。操作工通常使用试验性错误方法来探索正确的割缝补偿值。他 们首先按照一般规则来估计割缝,或进行实际测量,以获得初始值。然后,他们切割测试工件、测量工件并上下调整割缝补偿,并且重复此过程,直至零件测量值正 确无误。

割缝太宽(零件太小)

此问题可能是因喷嘴磨损、割炬间隙(弧压)过大、电流过大、气流不足或速度过低所致。这其中每个变量均会导致弧柱增大,从而加宽割缝。割缝补偿值不正确 (较小)也会导致零件尺寸过小。割缝太窄(零件太大)。此问题可能是因割炬间隙(弧压)过低、电流不足、气流过大或速度过快所致。这些变量会导致弧柱收 缩,从而缩窄割缝。割缝补偿值不正确(较大)也会导致零件尺寸过大。

坡口角度是指切割边缘的角度

坡口角度为0°的切割面是与材料水平面垂直的平直切口。大多数等离子割炬都是使用顺时针漩涡式流动的等离子气体,这样可在割缝右侧(沿割炬前进路径)形成 更平直的切口。传统等离子割炬的典型坡口角度范围:切割“良好”侧为1-3度,切割“不良”侧为3-8度。大公差等离子切割系统可以实现更小的坡口角度。 尽管由于气体退出割炬喷嘴时气体射流的形状原因,某些坡口成为等离子工艺固有的特点,但我们可以尽量减小它。坡口角度大于5度可能表明等离子弧切割设备参 数存在问题。

(过大)正角坡口

待切除部分上显示正角坡口
正角坡口 - 零件顶部小于底部

此 问题可能是因喷嘴磨损、割炬间隙(弧压)过高、电流不足或速度过快所致。所有这些变量都会导致电弧滞后,从而导致接触割缝顶部的能量多于底部。因此,顶部 割缝宽于底部割缝。围绕零件的切割方向不正确还可能会导致正向坡口角度过大。如果某零件周围存在过大的正角坡口,则其底部边缘还可能会有难以清除的高速熔 渣珠。

负角坡口

待切除部分上显示负角坡口
负角坡口 - 零件底部小于顶部,根切

此问题可能是因割炬间隙(弧压)过低、电流过大或速度过低所致。这些参数导致电弧在板材底部切除更多的材料。通常,零件周围一致的负角坡口都会伴随有低速熔渣。

不规则坡口

不规则坡口——待切除部分上显示凹形和凸形切割表面
正角切割表面 - 同一工件上同时存在正角和负角坡口

此 问题通常表示喷嘴出现故障、割炬不成直角,或电极和喷嘴未对齐。这些变量会导致电弧偏离平直路径穿过材料。通常,方形零件的一侧出现正角坡口,另一侧出 现负角坡口。零件的截面看起来像平行四边形,而非矩形。切割表面有时并不平整,而是一侧凹陷,另一侧凸出。这些都是部件磨损严重或未对齐的迹象。

相关内容

Many fabrication shops spend a lot of time and money reworking parts that were cut on the plasma machine to remove dross or correct dimensional inaccuracies. Some of these cut quality problems are caused by mechanical and electrical problems of an old or poorly maintained cutting machine; others are related to the plasma process itself. With so many variables in the cut quality equation, how does a plasma torch operator begin to troubleshoot a cut quality problem? Here we discuss the critical process variables that affect dimensional accuracy of a plasma cut piece. By carefully controlling these variables, the operator can minimize or eliminate dimensional problems and the associated costs of secondary operations or scrap parts.

Diagram of kerf width and bevel

Kerf is the void created by the plasma cutting process, or the amount of metal removed by the plasma arc. The plasma arc is dynamic (it changes in size and shape depending on amperage, voltage, gas flow and velocity of the moving torch) and so as the plasma arc column changes so does the kerf. Nozzle size also has a direct affect on kerf width since the nozzle orifice constricts the plasma gas jet to a particular diameter. (Nozzles are sized according to amperage rating: the bigger the hole the more power it can handle.) A good rule of thumb for estimating the kerf width is to multiply the nozzle orifice size by a factor of 1.5. For example a 200 amp air nozzle with an orifice of .086", will have a kerf width of approximately .129".

CNC controls for plasma arc cutting have an adjustable parameter called kerf compensation. The operator or programmer enters a value for kerf compensation that is usually equal to the kerf width, (some controls use _ the kerf width). The CNC then automatically calculates to compensate for the width of the cut, keeping the kerf on the waste side of the part. To find the proper kerf compensation value, operators often use a trial and error method. They first estimate the kerf using the rule of thumb or physically measure it to get an initial value. They then cut test pieces, measure them, adjust the kerf compensation up or down, and repeat the process until the part measures correctly.

Kerf too wide (part too small)

This problem can be caused by a worn nozzle, high torch standoff (arc voltage), excessive amperage, inadequate gas flow, or low speed. Each of these variables will cause the arc column to grow, widening the kerf. An incorrect (small) kerf compensation value will also cause an undersized part. Kerf too narrow (part too big). This problem can be caused by low torch standoff (arc voltage), inadequate amperage, excessive gas flow, or high speed. These variables cause the arc column to shrink, narrowing the kerf. An incorrect (large) kerf compensation value will also cause an oversized part.

Bevel angle is the angle of the cut edge

A cut with 0° bevel is a straight cut, perpendicular to the plane of the material. Most plasma torches use a clockwise swirling flow of plasma gas, which produces a straighter cut on the right hand side of the kerf with respect to forward torch motion. Typical bevel angles for conventional plasma torches range from 1-3 degrees on the "good" side of the cut and 3-8 degrees on the "bad" side of the cut. High tolerance plasma cutting systems can achieve even lower bevel angles. Although some bevel is inherent in the plasma process due to the shape of the gas jet as it exits the torch nozzle, it is possible to minimize it. Bevel angle greater than 5 degrees may indicate a problem with PAC machine parameters.

(Excessive) Positive bevel

Positive bevel shown on a cut away
Positive bevel - top of part smaller than bottom

This problem may be caused by a worn nozzle, high torch standoff (arc voltage), inadequate amperage, or excessive speed. All of these variables cause the arc to lag which causes more energy to contact the top of the kerf than the bottom. As a result, the kerf is wide at the top and narrow at the bottom. Improper cut direction around the part may also cause excessive positive bevel angle. A part with excessive positive bevel all around it may also have a hard bead of high-speed dross at its bottom edge.

Negative bevel

Negative bevel shown on a cut away

Negative bevel - bottom of part smaller than top, undercutting

This problem can be caused by low torch standoff (arc voltage), excessive amperage, or low speed. These parameters cause the arc to remove more material at the bottom of the plate. Usually a consistent negative bevel around the part is accompanied by low speed dross.

Irregular bevel

Irregular bevel - concave and convex cut surface shown on a cut away
Positive cut surface - positive and negative bevel on the same piece

This problem usually indicates that the nozzle has failed, the torch is out of square or the electrode and nozzle are misaligned. These variables cause the arc to deviate from a straight path through the material. Often one side of a square part will have a positive bevel and the opposing side a negative. The cross section of the part looks like a parallelogram rather than a rectangle. Sometimes the cut surface may not be flat, but rather concave on one side and convex on the other. These are all signs of severely worn or misaligned parts.